IndyCar Drivers Showed Their Dominance in the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona

The Target Chip Ganassi entry in the 24 Hours of Daytona this past weekend.
Photo: Chris Trotman

This past Saturday and Sunday, 14 Indy 500 starters took to Daytona International Speedway to compete in the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona. The 24 hour endurance race featured 53 teams in total across all of the series; Prototype, GT Le Mans, Prototype Challenge, and GT Daytona.  

The IndyCar drivers were spread out among 12 different teams and the four different classes. Karam, Kimball, Kanaan, and Dixon all raced for IndyCar team Chip Ganassi Racing, with the former two being in the #01 machine and the latter two in the #02.  A full list of the IndyCar drivers that competed is below:

Sage Karam
Charlie Kimball
Tony Kanaan
Scott Dixon
Sebastien Bourdais
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Jack Hawksworth
Martin Plowman
Ryan Briscoe
Simon Pagenaud
Graham Rahal
Townsend Bell
James Hinchcliffe
James Davison

The IndyCar drivers fared very well in the endurance race, with Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan piloting the #02 Chip Ganassi car to a victory in the Prototype class. Sebastian Bourdais followed suit behind them with a second place finish in the #5 car, co-piloted by Barbosa and Fittipaldi.

The winner of the GT Le Mans series also had an IndyCar driver behind the wheel, Ryan Briscoe. Along with Magnussen and Garcia as the other drivers, the #3 entry was the first of the GTLM class to cross the finish line, completing 725 laps in the 24 hour period.

Other significant finishes for IndyCar drivers are listed below:

Dixon: First overall, first in Prototype
Kanaan: First overall, first in Prototype
Bourdais: Second overall, second in Prototype
Briscoe: Fifth overall, first in GTLM
Pagenaud: Eighth overall, third in GTLM

IndyCar natives have had a good track record historically at the Rolex 24. Juan Pablo Montoya is tied for seventh on the all time win list with three wins. Scott Dixon, Al Unser, Jr., and A.J. Foyt are all tied for 13th on the same list with two wins.

Ganassi as a constructor has also been quite successful, winning six of the last ten 24 Hours’ of Daytona.

The IndyCar drivers and teams had great success in the competition in 2015, only building on the great history that the series has when competing in the endurance event.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s